Welcome To My World

If I had a nickel for every post on the net dealing with obesity (treatment and removal of), nutrition, diet, carbs, fat, lipids, etc. etc. etc. — I’d be a wealthy woman. I’d also be skinny. But since no one will pay me for those words, I’ve decided to add a few hundred thousand more.  No one will pay me for those, either, but if I can’t get money I can at least strive for clarity. I may never discover the “Unified Theory of Fat” that will tie everything together, but it won’t be for lack of trying.

I’ve spent the last four years doing two things:

  1. Reading every medical journal, textbook and study (down to the raw data) on obesity from every angle, studied every type of resistance (particularly leptin, insulin and thyroid hormone), and performed quite a few experiments where n=1. I’ve read most of the best blogs about all this out there, including the brilliant Petro Dobromylskyj’s HyperLipid, Mark Sisson’s Daily Apple, and too many more to mention. All of it has made me a lot leaner and healthier and frankly, I’m tired of keeping all that information in my head. I’d like to share and, if possible, give a little back. That part comes now.
  2. Learning, at the molecular level, how to make to delicious desserts that are sugar-free, chemical and artificial sweetener-free — that taste as good as, or better than the ‘real’ thing. And I’ve succeeded. Unfortunately getting the business set up will take a few months more. I’ll just have to continue making the cheesecakes, double-chocolate brownies, fudge and cupcakes for friends and family, dang it. You don’t know what loyalty is until you’ve asked your family to chow down on cheesecake #25 … hazelnut praline.

You are who you read. I learned most of what I know from amazing and generous mentors (who don’t know I’m alive), so if I can’t thank them in person I can at least do so here. If you haven’t read or watched the work of these giants, you don’t know nuthin’.

In no particular order:

My Guiding Philosophy: Save the Planet. Become a Carnivore. Eat a fat Vegan.

Kidding. Though I’m sure I’m already in trouble with the Humor-Challenged. So I’ll say instead that the one thing that turns me on is science. Real Science that controls for variables and follows the scientific method. You know, where you don’t stack the deck in your favor by, say, making the fat in a “high fat diet test” Crisco or vegetable oils rather than lard. Where you don’t end statin tests two years early because you know the deaths from diabetes and heart disease are about to pile up. Science. Where you try to disprove your hypothesis by every means available, not set out to prove you’re right. Where you don’t send the media press releases stating you’ve found  ‘links’ between things, implying causation when you are more likely to be describing effect. And where you know that without a controlled, random, double-blind study you don’t get to call your hypothesis a fact, but have to admit it’s still a theory.

Here’s what science has shown me over the years: Ancel Keyes’ Lipid Theory has never become, and will never become a fact. Not just because it’s based on  fundamentally flawed and fudged data (7 Countries Study, anyone?), but also because it’s dead wrong. That is to say, it kills the people who follow it, first by making them insulin resistant, then obese, then diabetic, and finally by clogging their arteries until they implode. There’s an excellent reason why women who live the longest worldwide have the highest cholesterol levels. They don’t believe in Keyes or his theory. Which means they don’t take statins.

Statins don’t work by lowering cholesterol (which has zip to do with heart disease), but by lowering inflammation, which has quite a lot to do with heart disease. That’s why statins do nothing good (and quite a lot bad) for anyone but a tiny segment of the population; (mostly) men who already have heart disease. If you are not among that limited population and you take statins, you are opening yourself up to horrendous side effects that include muscle pain, muscle loss and short-term memory loss. You’ll have proven increased risk for heart disease, stroke and diabetes. And that’s not the worst, since statins have now been implicated in early onset Alzheimer’s Disease. All side effects, no benefits. Just what you want in a medication. But hey, Big Pharma’s happy.

I believe that eating the right kind of fat (saturated, particularly butter and coconut oil), and avoiding the wrong kind of fat (vegetable PUFA’s and trans-) doesn’t make you fat or clog your arteries, or give you heart disease. It not only doesn’t “raise your cholesterol” it instead lowers your triglycerides, raises your HDL, and makes your LDL big and fluffy. In the absence of sugar, processed fructose and other empty carbohydrates, eating this way makes you slim and heart-healthy. Ditto for modest amounts of grass-fed meat and enormous amounts of free range eggs, especially the yolks so rich with choline.

Finally, I believe that everything always comes down to the liver. As Dan Aykroyd’s Julia Child so wisely declared: Always Save The Liver!

My One Religious Precept: Dark Chocolate is The Food of all Gods and Goddesses.

Finally (thanks to Mark Twain), the motto that guides all my work: “It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble. It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so.”

SugarFree  || Good For You Goodies

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Welcome To My World

  1. Mary says:

    I’m about to start hcg round 2, please tell me if I should cut out natural sugar too (the fruits) to see better loss on hcg? I’d like to modify this round to see a bigger drop in the scale. I’m aiming for 35 pounds in 45 days!

    Also if you’re eliminating all natural sugars that come from veggies and fruit (during weight loss attempts) what vitamins do you recommend to replace the nutrition?

  2. DooDQ says:

    Thanks for your posting. It is very interesting and I am looking forward to further installments. A couple of questions if you could be so kind as to answer
    1. What are your thoughts on the use of Vitamin D in the reduction of insulin resistance.
    2. How long should you be off of HCG prior to getting the blood work?
    Thanks and keep up the good work.

    • 1. What are your thoughts on the use of Vitamin D in the reduction of insulin resistance.
      2. How long should you be off of HCG prior to getting the blood work?

      First, thank you for the kind words. To answer your questions:

      — Vitamin D plays a vital role in helping to maintain a healthy metabolism.
      — I suggest being off HCG a few weeks before getting any blood work, especially lipids. If, as appears to be true, HCG helps to create new/more fat cells, that might throw off any results.

  3. Renee says:

    I’m really looking forward to being able to order some of your sugar free goodies when they become available for sale. One question though, will any of them be gluten free?

    • Renee, although almost all of them will be gluten free, they can’t be labeled that way since they’ll be made in a regular baking facility. They will be labeled “wheat-free,” which is all the labeling laws allow under those circumstances. They’ll also be very low carb as well.

      Thanks for asking!

  4. QuickBooks says:

    A formidable website! Can’t imagine how long it took you to research all this, but I for one really appreciate it. I thought I knew a lot about nutrition and obesity, but the info here blew me away.

    Big thumbs up for this blog!

  5. Scrapebox says:

    This post really helped me fill in the gaps I’ve had on this subject. Been trying to find something like this for ages, since so few people are truly knowledgeable about it. Excellent work, thank you.

  6. Placette says:

    I am speechless. This is an excellent blog, and very informative too. Great writing! That’s not much coming from an newbie writer like me, nevertheless it’s all I may say after diving into your posts. I’m going now to click some of the video links on your Welcome To My World thread, and then order a few of the books you recommend. Your blog is a stepping stone for me, my friend.

  7. Melia says:

    “I’ve gone ahead and bookmarked https://sugarfreegoodies.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/hello-world at Digg.com so my friends can see it too. I simply used Welcome To My World | sugarfreegoodies as the entry title in my Digg.com bookmark.

  8. wedding gloves says:

    While searching on the net for phrases that have been used on this site I stumbled on this blog. I really value the excellent detailed information!

  9. Webber says:

    Super blog! Thank you so much for taking the time to research all this, and the time to write it all, too. I’ve learned a lot here.

  10. Merkurial says:

    A very informative post and lots of really honest and forthright comments made! This certainly got me thinking about this issue!

  11. bestboy says:

    Excellent blog! I love this site, keep it up.

  12. Barefoot Lady says:

    I really like the way you present the facts about obesity. It makes it easy to absorb the information — and there’s a lot of that, LOL. Great Job! Thanks for posting it!

  13. Andrea says:

    You’ve made a some good points here. I search the net for the best way to lose weight, and a way to keep it off, and your Protocol is the only thing I’ve found that actually makes sense. I never took HCG, but I learned a lot about my metabolism here. Thanks so much for the great information!

  14. Inge Holocher-Ertl says:

    Please may I get your advice: I’ve followed a Low Carb/High Fat for the last eight months, lost eighteen pounds, feel much better, my blood work is okay, but my A1c is now 6.2, in the diabetic range.

    My fasting glucose is under 90 – but if I do normal housework, cooking, or help my daughter with her four little kids, or walk or swim, my FG rises to 113-130!

    Thank you for answering, if possible.

    Inge Holocher-Ertl

    • Inge,

      Thank you for writing – I’m glad you found us. 🙂 Although specific, individual advice is not given on the blog (look for a private email from me) I can say that you’re right to be concerned. Eating right is a good start to a healthy metabolism, but for some folks, it is sometimes not sufficient to heal severe insulin resistance, which is what you have with an A1c of 6.2. And of course you don’t say what you are specifically eating on a daily basis — and “LCHF” can mean different things to different people.

      What I can say is that you should not let this pass untreated, but that treatment (whether with the Protocol alone, or with proper medication) will depend not just on the results of one test (the A1c) but of several others you may not have had yet. Doctors often do not know which tests to order, let alone how to properly interpret them. Especially if your particular flavor of insulin resistance turns out to be PCOS — Poly Cystic Ovary Syndrome. That really seems to stump most doctors who only think of PCOS in a certain way, and who don’t understand that insulin resistance can be the only symptom for some women.

      I’ll write to you privately today.

  15. Marina says:

    ==I was on HCG diet, and had to break it off after 12 days. I felt horrible, with serious symptoms and NO weight loss after 2nd day of 500 calories.==

    Marina,

    What were your ‘serious symptoms’?

    ==After that I tried Atkins induction. Felt better, but again, no weight loss. Then I was referred to this site. I would like to try your program. I have read much, but it’s not coming together for me, since my brain fog is so dense at the moment. I need the protocol for dummies version. How do I put together a plan for me? Any help would be greatly appreciated.==

    First, none of my readers are ‘dummies.’ 🙂 But if you are also suffering from “brain fog” it sounds like in addition to Insulin Resistance, and PCOS (a dead giveaway was your inability to lose weight on Atkins induction!) — you also have hypothyroidism in the form of Thyroid Hormone Resistance. This pattern is so common in the women who join us after coming off HCG, it should be engraved on stone.

    These are serious metabolic hormone disorders, and they need to be definitively diagnosed before proceeding. Just trying different diets in the hope that something will ‘stick’ won’t work. Your metabolism is broken, and it needs to heal before it will function properly.

    Please look for a private email from me this afternoon that will help get you started down the right path.

    Best Holiday Wishes,

    SugarFree

  16. Hans says:

    Welcome To My World | sugarfreegoodies has been added to my favorites. I plan to read the entire blog!

  17. Davion says:

    Your blog is very valuable for me. Many thanks and keep up the great work!

  18. Dalen says:

    Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and brilliant style. Thanks for your hard work to gather all this information.

  19. Manuela says:

    I am really glad I’ve found this info. Today bloggers publish only about gossips and internet. A good blog with interesting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for keeping this site, I’ll be visiting it often. Do you do a newsletter? Can’t find it.

  20. Babs says:

    My brother recommended your blog and said I would like it. He was right. This truly made my day. You can’t believe how much time I’ve spent to find this information! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

